Your employer must pay you for all time that you have worked. This includes:
- Pre-shift set up
- Post-shift clean up
- Donning & Doffing required work gear under the control of your employer
- Starting up and shutting down your work computer
- Paid 10 minute breaks
Failure to pay you for your work means that you are allowed to sue them for back wages. Being paid for your honest work is your right.
Overtime Calculations in California
The California Labor Code offers a different and separate calculation for overtime than the federal law. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) states that overtime is to be paid after 40 hours of work. In California, overtime is calculated daily – after 8 hours of work.
For instance, if an employee works 10 hours a day for four days (40 hours) in California, they are required to obtain 8 hours of overtime pay.
If you have not been paid for your work performed or have not been paid fair overtime per the California Labor Code, contact us today. We can review your case and help you receive back wages. If your employer has miscalculated your wages, we can help you.